Home
Do you stop editing, when you see “Read Only”?
  v2.0 Posted at 22/06/2011 3:10 PM by SSW2000\AshuVarakala

When editing a .doc file in a SharePoint document library, you need to always “check Out” when you see “Read Only”. You need to “Check In” the document after editing to TFS.


Check-Out when you see ReadOnly

Figure: Warning - If you see “Read-Only” in the title bar, then you need to “Check Out”


Click Check-Out to edit

Figure: Click “Check Out” to edit the document in TFS

Save before closing
Figure: When you click “yes”, expect a 2nd dialog (for SharePoint controlled docs)

Check - in after saving the changes
Figure: Good – the dialog you should always get on saving

Related rules

    Do you feel this rule needs an update?

    If you want to be notified when this rule is updated, please enter your email address:

    Comments:

    Note: Social Media login for Yotpo is not working in IE or Safari, please use Chrome. We are waiting for Yotpo to fix it.