Home
Do you lock the SharePoint Content Database before making a backup?
  v14.0 Posted at 24/05/2016 3:31 AM by Tiago Araujo
Even though you have advised staff members a migration is taking place – you can guarantee someone will try to check-in or edit documents. The best way to prevent this is to put your content database into read-only mode, locking the content database.

There are two options to lock the content database.

Option 1 (Recommended): ​​

1.  Open SharePoint Central Administration site, navigate to "Application Management" | "Site Collections" | "Configure quotas and locks".

quotas-and-locks.jpg

2. Select the "site collection" which you would like to lock.

​3. Choose "Read-only (blocks additions, updates, and deletions)", then click "OK".

read-only-status.jpg
Note: Read more at Manage the lock status for site collections in SharePoint 2013
​​

Option 2 (not recommended):

1.    On your database server open SQL Server Management Studio

2.    Right click on the content database associated with the site collection you're migrating | Properties

3.    Choose Options | Scroll to the bottom of the options list

4.    For the Database Read-Only choose True

Figure - Database Properties | Options | Database-Read Only

5.    Now it’s safe to take a backup of your content database

 NOTE:  When some SharePoint timer services are run it may cause the site to display errors when the database is in read-only mode

Related rules

    Do you feel this rule needs an update?

    If you want to be notified when this rule is updated, please enter your email address:

    Comments: