Home
Do you know to *never* touch a production environment with SharePoint designer?
  v3.0 Posted at 20/10/2010 7:56 PM by System Account
  • SharePoint designer can silently reformat your code and introduce errors.
  • If you modify any master page or page layout file with SharePoint designer, it becomes customized. This means that SharePoint is now looking at a customized version stored in the database rather than the version on the file system. You then can't deploy future changes, because SharePoint will now always serve the customized version instead of the ghosted version in the solution package.

Related rules

    Do you feel this rule needs an update?

    If you want to be notified when this rule is updated, please enter your email address:

    Comments:

    Note: Social Media login for Yotpo is not working in IE or Safari, please use Chrome. We are waiting for Yotpo to fix it.