Home
Do you know how to delete orphaned users from the People Picker?
  v4.0 Posted at 1/09/2015 11:51 AM by William Yin
The SharePoint "People Picker" is a great tool for quickly selecting users of your SharePoint site. It allows you to quickly select users from your organization by browsing Active Directory.

Figure: The People Picker

Unfortunately, if you have added users directly to your site collection, and later deleted or disabled them from Active Directory, you will notice that these orphaned users will still appear in your People Picker. This will eventually clutter up your People Picker.


Figure: A user in the People Picker that was deleted from Active Directory
Figure: Searching in Active Directory for the user shows the user is in fact deleted

To remove these orphaned users, as a SharePoint Administrator, you can open the following URL (where www.northwind.com is your SharePoint URL):

  • http://www.northwind.com/_catalogs/users/simple.aspx

On this page you will find a list of all the users that are members of your site collection, including the orphaned users.


Figure: We have found our orphaned user!

To remove the user simply click on the Username | Click Delete User from Site Collection. This will instantly remove the user from the People Picker.

Related rules

    Do you feel this rule needs an update?

    If you want to be notified when this rule is updated, please enter your email address:

    Comments:

    Note: Social Media login for Yotpo is not working in IE or Safari, please use Chrome. We are waiting for Yotpo to fix it.