Home
Do you disable connections?
  v2.0 Posted at 13/08/2015 1:56 AM by Ben Cull

It is important that while you're upgrading, nobody can check in.  Any check-ins after you backup your database will be lost.

To make sure that nobody can change anything during the upgrade, follow these steps.

a.               Send out an email notifying everyone TFS will be unavailable for the upgrade period
Follow Rules to better Networks 

b.              Make sure nobody can check in files:

c.                Open the TFS Administration Console on the server.

d.               Navigate to Application Tier / Team Project Collections.

e.              For each Team Project Collection, select it, and click "Stop Collection". Enter a useful message (this will be displayed to users trying to connect from Visual Studio) and click "Stop":

stop each term.png

Figure: Stop each Team Project Collection

 

all team project.png

Figure: All Team Project Collections are stopped


f.               In Visual Studio, confirm you can no longer connect to TFS

visual studio.png

Figure: Visual Studio shows the message that you entered when you stopped the Team Project Collection

Related rules

    Do you feel this rule needs an update?

    If you want to be notified when this rule is updated, please enter your email address:

    Comments:

    Note: Social Media login for Yotpo is not working in IE or Safari, please use Chrome. We are waiting for Yotpo to fix it.