Home
Do you check your Workspaces when defining a new build?
  v4.0 Posted at 24/07/2015 11:07 AM by Daragh Bannigan
​When defining a build, you should always check the Workspace tab. Only the workspace relevant to your build should be included.
If you have a number of Team Projects open from the same TFS Project Collection, all of their workspaces will be included by default.  You should remove those workspaces that aren’t being used otherwise the build server will get the source for every workspace in this list before starting a build.
 
  
Figure: Bad example – Several workspaces from other team projects are included by default
 

  Figure: Good example – Only the relevant workspace has been included in this build definition

Related rules

    Do you feel this rule needs an update?

    If you want to be notified when this rule is updated, please enter your email address:

    Comments: